PDA

View Full Version : For you psycho-logists with kids

hsart
02-14-2010, 09:12 AM
Excuse the title (I studied psychology in school), but am looking for some logical suggestions for a sensitive family issue. Not even sure this is the right venue, though I assume a lot of members have or had kids. I am a single dad of a just turned teenage girl. I love my guns, my training sessions, and strongly support gun owner rights. My 13 year old understands the issues about bad guys out there and loves watching all the CSI tv shows as well as Criminal Minds (my fav). We have a plan on what she needs to do if someone breaks in at night (or during the daytime). She likes to shoot her Ruger 10/22 but does not own a handgun yet. I told her I will get her a .22 handgun as soon as she wants one. I assume we will take some defensive handgun courses together within a few years or so... she needs to ask nicely and really want to. Here's the issue - she is very uncomfortable when she sees me concealed carry, and a bit uncomfortable when I am reading gun magazines or researching something gun related online. She knows the value of it all but I think it may be some peer pressure at school - most of the kids and parents are anti-gun and she fears that I would be classified a weirdo by them (even though they do not know I carry). Any suggestions on how to communicate a little better with her on these issues would be greatly appreciated. I am sure she will change her tune once she experiences a Frontsight or Gunsite course.

unclenunzie
02-14-2010, 09:23 AM
Not a psychologist nor do I have kids, but the cornered cat website may be of use to you. It focuses on guns from a Woman's perspective, which of course includes concerns regarding children.

Cornered Cat (http://www.corneredcat.com/)

unclenunzie

Dietrich
02-14-2010, 09:37 AM