PDA

View Full Version : How do you know?

jimbar
09-22-2012, 11:26 PM
Which powder chart to believe? I'm just getting started in the reloading business. I've almost got all the equipment, and have been reading, and checking youtube videos on just about everything I can find.
One thing I've found is that so far, on about three different charts, the suggested load for 9mm, 115 gr is different on each one, using the same brand of powder.
Since everywhere I look, it is strongly warned to not use more than the maximum load, how do I know which one to use? The difference between charts sometimes suggest loads that are maximum + on other charts.

Bawanna
09-22-2012, 11:36 PM
Welcome to the world of reloading. What I did was get at least 3 loading manuals, I like Hornady's the best cause there's a ton of other good information in it too. Then I got a Speer and a Sierra I think.

I never start anywhere close to max, usually closer to minimum to middle of the road and compare the different manuals.

My books are years old and don't even list some of the new powders. I've looked at more recent books and found some of my years old reloads are over their max.

I think there's a big safety margin built in. You just need to look for pressure signs, flattened primers, that sort of thing. I've never owned a chrono and none of us can probably afford the pressure gauges and stuff the factories have so we just have to use visual cues.

Once you find a load that works all the mystery won't matter.

A few of my rules
Never shoot another guys reloads EVER.
Never accept another persons reload data without consulting a manual.
Never count on memory, I look up my load data every time I set up the powder measure.
Stay consistent in your loading process and avoid distractions.
Haste makes waste and probable hazards too.

It's a lot of fun once you get it sorted out and get going, just always have to be vigilant and cautious.

Ikeo74
09-22-2012, 11:55 PM