PDA

View Full Version : Comments on my new CW9

Rain
02-09-2013, 04:25 PM
Hello,

I joined the forum several weeks ago but haven't been posting, waiting to get my new Kahr.

I picked up a CW9 last Thursday and have been familiarizing myself with it. I will get to the range tomorrow to put some rounds through it.

I'd like to share a few thoughts on the fit and finish of the pistol, but first a disclaimer: I can be VERY "picky"! I was a Director of Quality for an Aerospace company for many years. I have also worked as a Quality Engineer for Aerospace companies. I am a journeyman machinist and have spent many years managing machine shops, which is my current job.

Upon first inspection the pistol looks and feels "substantial". There is nothing wimpy or shoddy about it. It is very businesslike. All parts fit exceptionally well. I found two minor issues, barely worthy of mention.

1) The edge of the polymer where it meets steel at the back of the slide protruded several thousandths of an inch and had a sharp edge. A few minutes with a sharp pocket knife and some 400 grit sandpaper and it is smooth as silk.
2) The small steel S/N plate on the polymer frame in front of the trigger guard has a sharp edge and feels rough to the touch. There is really no reason to touch it there, so I intend to just leave it alone. I wouldn't want to sand on it for fear of making it appear that someone had tried to change or remove the S/N.

I'm anxious to see how it shoots. I have never owned a semi-automatic pistol, always had revolvers, .22 magnum (H&R and High Standard) and .357 magnum (S&W). I did own one .38 (S&W) for a few years.

I look forward to learning a lot from the folks on this forum.

Be safe.

Rain

Yogi 117
02-09-2013, 06:24 PM