PDA

View Full Version : Spray Cleaner comparisons - ingredients

dmeister
06-30-2010, 07:28 AM
I have seen a LOT of questions about using different spray cleaners for cleaning polymer parts and a lot of concern about damaging polymer frames. Most answers to these questions still leave a lot of questions about the safety of the spray on a particular firearm.

I searched for MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) for a variety of chemical degreaser/spray cleaners including some that are commonly suggested on various forums as substitutes for Gun Scrubber Polymer Safe.

Depending on the age of the MSDS sheets I could find, these may or may not be accurate - updates can be made if errors are found.

I'm no expert, but a little research should find if the ingredients in these sprays will damage polymer frames. An email to your favorite manufacturer will probably get an answer as well.

Note that the Polymer Safe Gun Scrubber contains only 3 ingredients and the 3rd is the propellant. We KNOW this won't hurt modern polymers, so other ingredients should probably be considered suspect until confirmed safe for a particular application.

If someone wants to research the ingredients/applications, please post what you find in this thread!

Gun Scrubber - Polymer Safe

Hexane 65-70%
Isopropyl Alcohol 25-30%
Carbon Dioxide 1-5%

Gun Scrubber - NOT Polymer Safe kind - eats some plastics

Trichloroethylene <97%
Proprietary Ingredients <3%

SuperTech Brake Parts Cleaner Non-Chlorinated (Wal-Mart)

Toluene 33-43%
Methanol 26-36%
Acetone 17-27%
Carbon Dioxide <10%
Dimethoxypropane <5%

3M Electronic Equipment Cleaner

WATER 80-95%
ISOBUTANE 1-10%
2-BUTOXYETHANOL 1-10%

3M Non-Chlorinated Brake Cleaner

XYLENE 10-30%
HEPTANE 10-30%
PROPANE 10-30%
3-METHYLHEXANE 10-30%
METHYL ALCOHOL 7-13%
2-METHYLHEXANE 5-10%
ETHYLBENZENE 3-7%
2,3-DIMETHYLPENTANE 1-5%
DIMETHYLCYCLOPENTANE 1-5%
3-ETHYLPENTANE 1-5%
METHYLCYCLOHEXANE 1-5%
TOLUENE <0.3%
BENZENE <0.05%

Prestone Brake Parts Cleaner