PDA

View Full Version : MK9 vs. MK40 need advice for purchase

wingnut
09-26-2009, 08:14 PM
I have a Sig P229 .40 and a XD40 Subcompact. I decided to get something slimmer - a 9mm single stack. I went from almost buying a Kel-Tec PF-9 to deciding on a Kahr PM9, and then I laid eyes on the MK series. I think the MK series is where it's at. The MK9/MK40 looks like a mini Sig P226 or P220 to me. I love them! They look & feel awesome!

So now, since I'm new to Kahr, can you experts tell me is there any reason I should go with MK9 over MK40? My other guns are 40 but the 9mm gives me more capacity, less recoil, etc. How's the track record of the MK40 vs. the MK9? Any checkered past I should know about with one or the other?

Also what does the Elite series of MK's give you? From the website it looks like just the shiny polish. Is it a different trigger? Different anything? Just cosmetic?

Thanks a ton for your feedback. I just signed up here today, but look forward to all I can learn and participate in the future.

-WingNut

Dozer
09-27-2009, 08:36 AM
Hey Wingnut, if I were in your situation, I would stay with a caliber that I already shoot. If you shoot both 9mm and .40SW, then the decision becomes a little more difficult. Economically, buying bulk in one caliber is better than buying in multiple calibers. As for what you get with the Elite series, the mag well is beveled for easier and faster reloading, the feed ramp is polished for more reliable chambering and (I think) you get a smoother trigger... and, of course, it's prettier! Maybe you could buy both??

500KV
09-27-2009, 11:41 AM
I have a Sig P229 .40 and a XD40 Subcompact. I decided to get something slimmer - a 9mm single stack. I went from almost buying a Kel-Tec PF-9 to deciding on a Kahr PM9, and then I laid eyes on the MK series. I think the MK series is where it's at. The MK9/MK40 looks like a mini Sig P226 or P220 to me. I love them! They look & feel awesome!