PDA

View Full Version : A Pretty Amazing Holster: Remora's Clipless IWB

Riccardo
11-05-2010, 07:46 PM
This is a reprint from the Smith & Wesson forum, but I thought this was so interesting that I'm hoping some of the experienced IWB'ers and pocket carriers can weigh in:

Have you ever run across a product and said, “Man, where have you been all my life? I could have used this for the last 25 years!” Well, that’s my feeling after two weeks of wearing the inexpensive no-clip IWB holster from Remora Concealment and Security Products.

Remora Concealment and Security Products (http://www.remoraholsters.com)

When I started carrying (about 25 years ago), I was a poor college student. I needed something that would allow me (a southpaw) to carry concealed safely and securely. What I got, though, were a succession of schlocky holsters that were either bulky or didn’t protect the gun or would fly out on the draw. And this only after long searching for left-handed holsters. If I were to run across a college kid today in that situation, I’d give a quick, easy referral to the $30 Remora no-clip IWB holster.

No clip?! Well, you have certainly seen the DeSantis Nemesis pocket holster, the one with the rubberized "grippy" outer surface designed to keep the holster in your pocket. I've had a few for years now - big problem with them is that the grippiness fades over time and the holster doesn't sit so well in the pocket. Anyhow, I've tried used the Nemesis holsters IWB on occasion. A belt holds them pretty firmly in place, and they add very little bulk. The problem is that the pocket-holster design of the Nemesis is not ideal for such use: it’s a little oversized, designed to release the gun quickly on the draw. Not the security you want for IWB.

Nemesis and handmade mag pouch with CZ RAMI
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd222/505Erich/Handguns/20aug10Remora0010001yyy.jpg

http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd222/505Erich/Handguns/20aug10Remora0020001yyy.jpg