PDA

View Full Version : New Reloader Education

OldLincoln
11-21-2010, 09:24 PM
Since I'm BRAND new to reloading (equipment still in the box) I'll start off.

Getting Started:

What I have:
Thanks to Bawanna and my son, I have
1. RCBS Rockchucker press with spent primer tray
2. RCBS Powder measure.
3. A case mouth inner and outer reamer and a primer pocket cleaner tool.
4. A bullet puller.
5. A balance beam scale (RCBS 5-0-5).
6. Speer and Hornady reloading manuals.
7. A wood loading block and 2 MTM universal trays.
8. A digital caliper.
9. Set of carbide dies for .45.
10. Shell holder for .45.
11. 45 RN/SWC Seater Pak (whatever that is).

I will add more essentials before I actually get to reloading so no pressure for a while. I have to learn about this stuff before I get anything more.

My objective is to reload target ammo only and have no need to 'tune' ammo or anything. I just want an inexpensive round with one formula that works well. Nothing fancy for a target 7yds out.

First: Education
I have spent most of today reading articles, watching videos and generally being shotgunned with information. There's just too much for all of it to be helpful. So first off, I need some links to what you consider excellent sources of education someone who just today learned what the press dies are for.

Second: Work Space
I perused a thread but can't remember where that had lots of pictures of reloading setups. Some have very elaborate reloading offices with powder safes, etc.; some moderate corners of a room, and some portable setups mounted on boards they would put on top of the kitchen table.

I need some idea of what is really needed for a work space. How do you store powder and primers (we're both a bit timid about this one).