PDA

View Full Version : Bullets seated crooked

94zcar
12-18-2010, 08:14 PM
I loaded up 100 more rounds today. I am a little more confident now that I shot the first 25 and they all shot fine.

About 5 of the 100 rounds I reloaded, the bullet seated crooked. if I roll them on my bench there is a definate wobble to the bullet. Some others have a very slight wobble. Should I pull these apart?

I appreciate all the help guys, I'm just getting started -Rod-

Tilos
12-18-2010, 10:22 PM
If it were me, I'd mark them for identification at the range and shoot 'em if they chamber.
If not, pull them apart.

Tilos

Replay13
12-19-2010, 01:06 AM
Hello 94zcar,

I'm not sure how you can seat a bullet that crooked without bending the brass or deforming the bullet by over crimping? Can you post a picture or at least explain how you are seating the bullets. And what caliber and bullet are you using? You can pull the bullets and see if they are deformed.

I have seen a few rifle bullets off 3 or 4 thousands at the most, but that is mostly form the brass thickness of the case that hasn't been neck turned.

I'm curious now,
James (Replay13)

500KV
12-19-2010, 08:55 AM
Your problem could be that the bullet seating die insert doesn't fit your bullet pofile, ie.flat nose or round nose.
Most die manufacturers include seating stems for flat nose & round nose bullets.

You can fill the cavity with hot glue and use a greased bullet, pushing it into the cavity while the glue is still hot to make a custom seater for just about any bullet profile.

You might also be sure you are expanding the case mouth sufficiently, giving the bullet a chance to start without binding.

Bawanna
12-19-2010, 11:31 AM
I'd pull one of the bullets and roll it by itself. I'd bet the bullet itself is not made right or cocentric.
Everything in the reloading process is made to keep things centered, I can't see being able to seat a bullet off center, the die even without the correct seater plug will want to center it.