PDA

View Full Version : What type of CD ammo are you using for your P9?

In-Yo-Grill
11-02-2009, 06:49 AM
I've been out to the range twice now and have put an additional 300 rounds through my P9. I must report that I did have one FTE towards the tail end of my time at the range.

I've been experimenting with different types of critical defense ammo and found one that my gun really likes. First I tried the Hornady 115gr FTX. They shot good but my pattern was a little spread out. Next I tried Speer Gold-Dots in 147gr and was able to keep a 2" pattern.

I'm fairly new to ammo ballistics and would usually just buy one brand and dealt with whatever results it gave me. I'd still like to try other brands and that's why I'm wondering what else is out there.

Any info is greatly appreciated.

DakPara
11-04-2009, 03:10 PM
I have been very happy with the Speer Gold Dot 124gr +P in my P9 so far.

jocko
11-04-2009, 04:04 PM
I have been very happy with the Speer Gold Dot 124gr +P in my P9 so far.

hard not to be happy with that round. It is a dandy. My first choice...

stevehome
11-08-2009, 01:06 AM
I found you can't beat Cor Bon 115 +P It has the volocity and knock down by means of bullet fragmention. It has the desired penetration and is 100% reliable in my P-9 and PM-9. TRY IT, YOU WILL LOVE IT! Stay away from the heavier bullets because they lack knock down power. Police dept. who went that way with the heavier 147 bullets were disappointed with effectiveness of stopping power. YOu want bulet frangmentation, more wound channels!! I'm talking about the standard lead hollow point rounds that are listed muzzle velocity at 1350 FPS. For indoor use, you can go with Magsafe ammo. They won't go through you walls and strike a friend or family member.

rnpollard
11-08-2009, 01:41 PM
I believe that this is the best carry ammo period. If you take a look at other shooting forums you'll see that it is very well thought of.

It is 100% in my Colt .380. I have 5 boxes of the 9mm on order.