PDA

View Full Version : inside of a holster

pacific nw guy
11-18-2009, 07:18 PM
i bought a holster for my pm40 and this may be a very dumb question but I am a newb.....it is from a company called pocketholsters.com

Kahr Arms Pocket/Wallet Holster (http://pocketholsters.com/Kahr_Arms_Pocket_Wallet_Holste/kahr_arms_pocket_wallet_holste.html)

knowing little about holsters but reading their site they seem to be well made. my question is the inside of the holster, it seems very rough. do some companies smooth this out so as not to wear on the gun? the gun fits nicely but it is a bit tight and the inside rather rough.

on another note I finally got to put 100 rounds through it today. no issues at all once I got it shooting. the only problem i encounter was getting the initial round to go in the chamber. I had to put the slide back a few times or take out the magazine and out it in again.

my only other shooting experience is with my xdm 9, this gun is a different beast all together. loud and strong, i like it! i need to learn to shoot it better but I like the idea of big power from a small package, this is what I wanted in a concealed carry weapon.

Spank the Monkey
11-18-2009, 09:29 PM
I've got one of them there holsters for an Rohrbaugh R9... I know what you're saying about the inside of your holster, however I've never experienced any appreciable wear from the 'rough side in' on any of my carry guns. My PM9 has ridden in a IWB leather rig for about a year now without getting scarred up. One way to look at it is that the rough side gives a little more retention or grip to secure your pistol. I know that some holster makers offer smooth side in options. There are a couple of holster makers here on the Forums that could articulate this far better than I can. Just my .02
Good shooting to ya & enjoy!

Grabbrass
11-18-2009, 09:46 PM