PDA

View Full Version : Colt NEW AGENT

earle8888
03-18-2011, 01:58 PM
I have been fondling a new Colt Lt Wt. New 'agent with XS sites. Very similar in size to the PM45, BUT, thinner! Feels great anybody haver any experience?

CJB
03-18-2011, 11:09 PM
I've got some indirect experience...

I never went to "gunsmithing school". I'm the result of an engineering background, with tool making experience, and worked professionally as a gunsmith for about a dozen years, only giving it up when my day job finally got moving into high gear. This year I've built up four 1911's from the frame up, and rebarreled four others.

Only saying all that because, in that time, I've worked on, rebuilt, modified, repaired, and refinished a whole lot of 1991's, and short 1911's can be a real finicky situation when they decide to get a mind of their own. When I built up bullseye guns, we worried a lot about how they'd function with ultra low power reloads. On the shorty 1911's its a whole different set of situations going on. Whereas on a Government model, or Commander, the shooter would maybe change the recoil spring once in a great while - like years or decades, you cant get away with that on an Officer's or Agent length. Especially the Agent. You have to watch your magazines like a hawk. Everything is moving faster, and you need strong magazine springs to get the round up and ready to go into battery, in a much shorter time. Extractors are finicky, since now they are expected to do the same job with greater extraction force, and in a quicker time period. Ejector noses are finicky. They have to kick the case "just so", and the case is moving faster and being extracted perhaps in a slightly different way.

The shorter the 1911, the more you have to stay on top of it.