PDA

View Full Version : Wolf or Kahr guide rod ?

dzldust
06-11-2011, 07:25 AM
been looking at both but what is the general concensus with you fellas?
Wolf is black and comes with springs versus the Kahr which is prettier but does not come with new springs,any reason for either besides appearance?

TucsonMTB
06-11-2011, 08:36 AM
been looking at both but what is the general concensus with you fellas?
Wolf is black and comes with springs versus the Kahr which is prettier but does not come with new springs,any reason for either besides appearance?
I believe most people like the stainless guide rod because it is "prettier", but a $5 recoil spring is a bargain and you can polish the end of the Wolff rod to look like same shiny visible end of the stainless guide rod.

I polished the end of my stock CW40 guide rod. It looks nice and has shown no signs of corrosion. YMMV ;)

Barth
06-11-2011, 05:36 PM
I’m new to Kahr and have limited gun knowledge. Not to mention being real clumsy.
So with this disclaimer here we go –

This being the MK sub forum I think it’s worth noting that my MK40 3” Micro Elite appears to have captured double recoil springs (a la Seecamp). I was saddened when I found my all stainless elite had what appears to be a plastic guide rod. Then the relatively expensive stainless steel guide rod from Kahr doesn’t come preassembled, with springs, for simple drop in replacement. The original plastic assembly doesn’t appear to disassemble and had to be cut. I used pruning shears and the assembly exploded with parts flying all over the room.Then compressing the double recoil springs with my bare hands, while trying to screw the “lock tight” slippery end cap on, was pure hell. So If you have no tools, or skill, like me, have a gunsmith do it.

As to why, It’s shinny.
Also, I think it may add about ½ ounce to the nose of the gun.

One more word of caution –
I have a Sig P220 that had become unreliable.
In talking with two gunsmiths about the problem