PDA

View Full Version : Recomendations for PM9 loads

Jitterbug
07-07-2011, 03:29 PM
Hi Guys

I've got two hungry PM9's to feed and decided to come over and see if I could find any recommended 9mm plinking loads and 9mm reloading tips in general.

I've done a bit of reloading off and on over the years, mostly .38/.357. 44 Mag, .45acp, .40/10mm and some rifle, but I'm new to 9mm.

Right now I have about 150+ Winchester 124 FMJ's on hand and I'm looking for a good, inexpensive plinking bullet, D.P, Roze and Montana Gold all sound good, although I'm a bit hesitate to swing for a 1000 bullets to try out up front.

I've got a S&W M&P9c, too and would like to develop a plinker for all three if at all possible.

The PM9's are a 2004 serial #VB model and a brand new current issue.

Thanks...

Tilos
07-07-2011, 07:31 PM
Jitterbug:
That's a loaded question right there.
I've loaded 115 and 124 FMJ from Precision Delta.
I had better results with the 124s hitting point of aim out of a fixed sight gun (PM9).
I've had to tune loads to get the elevation point of impact to the point of aim.
To get this, the loads where not plinking/puff type stuff, but closer to the feel of factory loads.
Sorry to say I don't have a crono but the powder was one of the faster burning, with a charge mid to high in the load range.
Tilos

Jitterbug
07-08-2011, 06:36 AM
I'm going to run a batch of AA7, AA5 and Titegroup for starters, all will be mild start loads, with some mixed, 1 time fired factory brass.

Hornady recommends a COL of 1.150" for their FMJ, so I'll probably start there too.

Precision Delta is tempting with their prices...but I hate to purchase a 1000 of anything before trying it out.

I'd probably go the 124 route, I'm not concerned about POI, I zero for the CCW load and for practice I shoot for groups or adjust with Kentucky windage when necessary.

Tilos
07-08-2011, 08:04 AM
I don't like to post load data but I know I never used any of the powders you mentioned.