PDA

View Full Version : Media Bias!

Chief Joseph
12-30-2009, 07:47 PM
I had posted this at a conceal carry forum I go to because, to me, this is clear media bias. The story goes to great lengths to push it was "training" that stopped the attack, when from the writing it's obvious that it was the presenting of a GUN that did the job. At the other forum, a guy who specializes in training insisted that it was training, but was unable to tell me in words why. He just kept falling back on "I'm an expert, you know nothing". Now being an American who's read about many an instance of regular joes who have concealed weapons successfully using them to save themselves and others, even without this supposed expert training, I become quite irritated at the "trust me, I'm an expert" without backing it up. That's how we're in this supposed AGW mess with these corrupt "scientists". So please if you have info that I'm not seeing, please enlighten me without being a condescending know it all that I experienced at the other forum.

Teacher credits training after he halts stabbing - PennLive.com (http://www.pennlive.com/news/patriotnews/index.ssf?/base/news/1260498309184930.xml&coll=1)

Dietrich
12-30-2009, 08:01 PM
I don`t know about the guy on the other forum,but what I got from the story was that when the gun was pulled the assailant fled.What do you think was the know-it-all`s problem other than he liked to tell people what an expert he was? Sounds like the incident was over when the firearm was introduced,not by any special training unless the training consisted of "If you see a guy stabbing someone,pull a gun on him." :confused:

RiskPro
12-30-2009, 08:06 PM
I agree...the gun is why the guy took off.

However, I don't see any media bias. I read it a few times and infer the overall premise to be that his military training kicked in and he acted accordingly. So, with gun in hand as his training dictated, he interviened and took control of the situation.