PDA

View Full Version : Why should (or shouldn't) i buy a sig p238...

popgoestheweasel
09-23-2011, 09:07 PM
when i already have a mk9 elite??? i've never shot my mk9 but i'm about to take the plunge into ccw and i have some decisions to make.

to make matters more complicated, i'm even waffling about trading my mk9 elite for a pm9 to make ccw more comfortable.

geez, why do my hands have to be so BIG...otherwise i'd probably like the small sized pistols alot better. sorry....just an idle thought!!!

btw, i'm new to kahr talk....only my second post. howdy all!!!

TominCA
09-23-2011, 11:12 PM
I do not own a P238 but I've had a Colt Govt. 380 which is very similar. Nice pistol and feels great in your hand. But it is really a very different animal than an MK9 - I own both an MK9 and a PM9 - The MK9 is beautifully made and shoots like a dream, but it is too heavy for a pocket. The PM9 carries much better.

Back to the difference I mentioned earlier: The Sig is a single action pistol which operates much like the 1911. There is more to do to get it in action. It can also fire very fast and "feels good" like a 1911. The Kahrs are more like double action only revolvers; Point gun at bad guy, pull trigger, repeat as necessary.

Every time (of the few times) that I have needed a handgun it has always been a time of great stress, sudden immediacy and lots of noise and confusion and you don't always have both hands available. Racking a slide or even flicking a safety can be a big task when all you have going is your limbic nervous system.

But my Colt 380 is a really fun gun to shoot and fits the hand naturally and feels great, but for carry I would prefer the PM9 (first choice for pocket) or the MK9 in an IWB holster. If the MK / PM grip is tough on your hand size get a grip sleeve. I have one on my MK9 and it works great.

wyntrout
09-24-2011, 12:06 AM
Welcome aboard a great forum!