PDA

View Full Version : New Here and New to Kahr

Dobieman
01-08-2010, 07:36 PM
Hi guys,

I have been carrying Glocks for about 20 years and decided to down size a bit.
All my Glocks have been 45 ACP – G21, G30, and G36 so I bought a CW45 at a gun show the week before Christmas for $400.00 + tax.
I read this board for a while prior to purchasing and was concerned a bit about reliability based on some post regarding problems. I have been around the various forums a while and understand that most of the things that perform correctly don’t get much attention and the few that dont are all over the place with complaints and posts. Anyway with some concern and some faith I bought the CW45 because it appeals to me. I look at carry guns as tools – period. The CW45 is purposely built and no frills. That’s what I want in a carry gun combined with complete reliability. Save the rosewood grips and stuff for the range guns or collections. Give me function, ergos and accuracy for carry.

Anyhow my first range session was last week and I put about 225 rounds through it with various loads from FMJ round nose to JHP’s. I brought an athletic glove with out fingers on it because I knew the grip was course and I had a couple hundred rounds to pop. I started bare handed and on the first 5 or 6 magazines I had the mag drop out on at round 5 with one left in the mag about 4 times. I had read about this and was concerned but pushed on keeping in mind the 200 round break in Kahr recommends. After about the first half dozen mags and about 4 drops I was watching to make sure I wasn’t thumbing the mag release. It didn’t appear so but after putting on the glove the problem went away – coincidence?