PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about the MK40 please

1911luver
10-17-2011, 07:34 AM
I'm new to kahr arms guns with a recently acquired P9 I love how thin this gun is and how it shoots. Now I'm wanting an MK40 and am interested to head from this here who own one. How are they in the realibilty area? How is the recoil on these little guns?

Also are the MK40's known for any issues and whats the difference between an MK40 and MK40 elite? Sorry for all the questions but again I'm new at the kahr thing,thanks for any help guys.

Barth
10-17-2011, 10:45 AM
I'm new to kahr arms guns with a recently acquired P9 I love how thin this gun is and how it shoots. Now I'm wanting an MK40 and am interested to head from this here who own one. How are they in the realibilty area? How is the recoil on these little guns?

Also are the MK40's known for any issues and whats the difference between an MK40 and MK40 elite? Sorry for all the questions but again I'm new at the kahr thing,thanks for any help guys.

Have an MK40 Elite.
And this is my personal experience with this particular gun-
How are they in the realibilty area?
A little fussy about what ammo it likes.
Recommend 200 rounds to verify they will feed reliably.
Mine likes Speer GDHP 155/165 grain.

How is the recoil on these little guns?
Recoil is a subjective thing.
You need to rent it or something like it and find out for yourself.
Some guys here think the PM40 is fine recoil wise.
I think it's too much to practice with.
The MK40 is heavier stainless steel.
And I can shoot/practice with it easy.

Are the MK40's known for any issues?
Not that I'm aware of.

Whats the difference between an MK40 and MK40 elite?
Elite 2003
The polished stainless steel finish and laser etching on the frame
are available on all Kahr Elite 2003 pistols - the K9, MK9, K40 and the MK40.
The lustrous finish complements our innovative designs and solid construction.
The magazine well is beveled for easier magazine reloading.