Tommy Gun Shop   Tommy Gun   Crimsontrace   CrossBreed Holsters
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rusting magazine release button CM9

Default Rusting magazine release button CM9

I have been carrying a new CM9 for several months IWB, right hand. This means the magazine release button is next to my body. In winter I had a tee shirt between me and the CM9. With summer came a little sweat and the magazine release button rusted.

I treated the external button with a rust converter several times, but it kept rusting. I have tried a leather holster, a ballistic nylon holster, and a velvet nylon holster, all purchased new. Now I am regularly putting a drop of gun oil on it, which is annoying.

I called Kahr and mentioned this and they sent me a new clip release that looks just like the original one. Does anyone know if Kahr plans to make a stainless magazine release? Or are there any third party solutions for this problem?

Right now I have resorted to a fanny pack, but I don't like it.

Thanks for any tips.

Try some Frog Lube.
    Paint or plating would be some options to consider.
    As a long shot, there were some older poly 9mm Kahrs that had a hybrid mag release (poly body with a metal shelf), perhaps someone with one of these would trade you for your new all metal latch.
    BTW, Welcome to the forums
    Regards,
    Greg

no they arenot gonna make a stainless maqg release. it is not an issue in 99% of kahrs, I would sugges tmaybe even putting in the new one. It could for some reason be a better release due to metallurgy reason, which I am guessing to. but again it is not an issue. It might be for you though. so what GB6491 suggested might work, U just gonna have to keep an eye on that area in your case. Even stainless can rust.
    . My PM9 has over 40,000+ rounds through it, and runs much better than an illegal trying to get across our border

NRA BENEFACTOR MEMBER

MAY GOD BLESS MUGGSY