Tommy Gun Shop   CrossBreed Holsters   Mitch Rosen   Crimsontrace
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: P40 magazine help

Default P40 magazine help

Greetings brain trust. Just bought my 15th Kahr off gunbroker, buyer beware though. Looks brand new but seller stopped answering my emails when I pointed out that in 16 magazines full of Fiocchi fmj the slide wouldn't lock back on empty not one time. I studied my other Kahr 9mm/.45 mags and the little bump thing that engages slide lock is shaped very different on the .40 compared to the other calibers. Do all .40 mags have this shape? Can you swap out a 9mm follower and get slide lock? Also, rounds 4,5 (loaded into mag 2nd, 3rd) in all 16 magazines failed to feed and needed to pull back slide slightly to relieve pressure on round then it could be pushed into chamber with slide. Not a fan of that either. My Ranger 180 grain HP's all fed correctly but still wouldn't lock slide back. Please help. My other Kahr's are perfect. This thing is a useless black turd at the moment.

The .40 is in the middle. The little bump thing is way less rounded and much more pointy than the other 9mm/.45 followers where they engage slide lock.

either one should work OK, they did go to the rounded one lately. I have no clue why. Have u visibly checkedto seeif the mags lock open if u just pullback the slide on anembpy magazine. to see what that metal ub is doin with that slide lock lever.U could have a bad slide lock lever, if all 3 are doinit. Give kahr a call and explain it and I wuld think they would send u a new slide stop lever to install. Also on wyns thead on kahr 45 fixes he shows a nice photo of what that sldiestop spring should look like. It indeed could be bent outta whack. IMO has to be one of those two things and each should be easy to check out. Sounds like the seller did sumpin wrong with the gun and peddled it. Kahr can fix it but check some of this out urself first.

PM sent to.