Tommy Gun Shop   Tommy Gun   Magnum Research new   Crimsontrace

Thread: Tried 50 yard shooting yesterday with the P9

Default Tried 50 yard shooting yesterday with the P9

The weather was nice so I thought I'd better take advantage of it by giving my P9 a workout. Posted a 50 yard target center on the target frame and, because I need all the help I can get, started shooting off the bench. Not knowing where to hold, I started shooting at 12 0'clock but didn't even hit the paper. Switched to shooting at 6 0'clock and my first shot broke the X-ring. "Piece of cake." I said to myself. Well, long story short, out of 25 tries, I could only see 10 hits on the paper and these were random hits with no apparent grouping. Definitely not a "piece of cake", no more Xs and not as easy as Justen Moon makes it look but I'll be working on 50 yard shooting some more. I think next time around, I will post the full sized 50 yard target. It will cover most of the target frame so I can at least see where my shots are going. The target frame I had was full of holes so unless I hit my target center, I wasn't sure where my shots were hitting. Still, it was a beautiful day to be shooting and when I moved the target frame up to 15 yards, the hits increased. This makes 900 rounds through the P9 and I've had no problems with it at all since the break-in period when I experienced a few failures to chamber. The trigger has smoothed out considerably and the recoil spring is not quite as stiff making field stripping much easier. I really like my Kahr and feel quite comfortable carrying it concealed.
    Life member - NRA
    Life member - CA Rifle & Pistol Assn.
    SW desert rat

That's pretty good for a pistol that was built for CCW and not target shooting. I most of my practice at 7 yards, closer one-handed and weak-handed.
    Draw me not without provocation, sheath me not without honor.