Tommy Gun   Tommy Gun Shop   CrossBreed Holsters   Crimsontrace

Thread: Should I be concerned?

Default Should I be concerned?

My three month old CM9 has experienced 6 nosedives, the last of which occurred around the 420th round or so. It has happened with Sellier & Bellot 124gr ball ammo and once with Federal HST 124gr. I have cleaned the gun meticulously with CLP, Gunscrubber, and an air hose and lubed all the correct points after each time to the range. I use the slide release and seem to do the right things. That's four times to the range and one to two failures each time.

I really love the CM9, but I don't know that I will feel totally comfortable carrying it as my EDC. Does it need a few hundred more rounds to work things in better or is this par for Kahrs to do this? Is the CM9 sensitive to certain ammo? Should I contact Kahr? I'm new to Kahr so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I had my little CW380 out this morning. It has between 1000 and 2000 rounds now. I had a feed failure today and I knew immediately I wasn't holding the pistol correctly. I corrected my grip and fired another 250 rounds without issue. Oh, one time I hit the slide lock and locked the slide back before a mag was spent.

Could it be every now and then you are not holding it firmly enough to cycle? It happens sometimes and is just a thought based on my day.
    Aftermarket accessories for Kahr Pistols at https://lakelinellc.com/
    There are always more in the pipeline...

Concentrate on your grip................................Federal HST's are a tad longer in length than other ammo. I had a few dives with my MK. I didn't know whether it was me, or the ammo. I switched to Critical defense.

How you grip these guns is very important. If you find yourself regripping between shots your grip isn't firm enough. Sometimes a grip sleeve or stick on grip panels help with the situation. You can also try a Lakeline follower in your magazines.