Xssights   Magnum Research new   Crimsontrace   Tommy Gun

Thread: fmj bullets rule!

Default fmj bullets rule!

hi ya, so I have been reloading for 5 or 6 years and you know what I just figured out? full metal jacket bullets are more accurate than all my own cast, and other lead, and plated bullets including hi tek types.
    not very scientific; just my observation. 23 yds with my trusty CZ75; I have 1,200 fmj 115 gr and 124 gr no name fmj's sold me by a private seller. just saying.
    what do you find?
    much obliged,
    max

Every type of round has a purpose. FMJs are good for target shooting but not defensive rounds for home. It will go right through the person. That's why you have HPs and JHPs. Might not be most accurate (as you say) but they are for defense.

I've found good cast bullets to be every bit as accurate as jacketed out to around 25 yards but a bit less accurate at 50 yards and beyond but this is only from my guns and my shooting. Don't expect my results would be the same as yours. I say experiment and go with what works for you.
    Life member - NRA
    Life member - CA Rifle & Pistol Assn.
    SW desert rat

Default FMJ Bullets

FMJ Bullets

Checkout the "as low as" prices here:
    https://precisiondelta.com/index.php...ullet/9mm.html

I'm guessing 9mm from the weights/guns you posted.
    I apologize if my post contains the same or similar information as someone who has posted before me.

About all I use anymore is Precision Delta. Good stuff.

I think the big plus to jacketed or plated over lead is you can push them a little faster. This has to be a plus in the accuracy department all other things being equal.

Most of our ranges no longer allow lead, except 22 in some cases. Thank goodness for Precision Delta.

I got about 400 45 Colt rounds loaded with lead. Gotta shoot them outside when I get a chance.
    Got em all loaded and then they banned em. I was not happy.
    In Memory of Paul "Dietrich" Stines.