Mitch Rosen   Tommy Gun   Tommy Gun Shop   Magnum Research new
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deep Cleaning Internals

Default Deep Cleaning Internals

Just wanted to get opinions on how often you "deep" clean the internals of the Kahr pistols? I typically clean my pistols right after I shoot them but it's more of a basic cleaning with slide, frame, and barrel. I'm far from an expert but just wanted some input - thanks!

Personally for me, very seldom.
    Many just squirt a little brake cleaner or gun scrubber in the little clean out hole to clean the striker channel. I don't even do that.

Maybe once a year or even two I might pull the back plate off and check the striker channel and extractor assembly.

This on a PM45. My K9 and K40 probably even less.
    In Memory of Paul "Dietrich" Stines.
    Dad: Say something nice to your cousin Shirley
    Dietrich: For a fat girl you sure don't sweat much.
    Cue sound of Head slap.

RIP Muggsy & TMan

"If you are a warrior legally authorized to carry a weapon and you step outside without that weapon, then you become a sheep, pretending that JOCKO will not come today."

I do a basic, but though cleaning ever time I shoot my guns and I spray brake cleaner in the clean out hole about every 500 rounds. While spraying brake cleaner I
    also work the firing pin spring back and forth.

After break-in I like to test a gun for survival/fighting. What I do is skip cleaning it for 2 or 3 range trips. I want to know if the gun is capable of functioning dirty. I don't make this a regular practice, I normally only do this once. And,,,, I never carry a dirty gun for self defense.

I give my guns basic cleaning after each range session and only do deep cleaning occasionally like every 750 rounds or so. I just make sure that every handgun that I concealed carry for protection gets a deep cleaning before it reaches 1,000 rounds since its last deep cleaning, so I can check if there is any severely worn part or broken spring...