Tommy Gun Shop   Tommy Gun   Xssights   CrossBreed Holsters

Thread: Range reports, 1st 3 trips, new CT380

Default Range reports, 1st 3 trips, new CT380

Somewhat a repeat from my newbie thread, but the important info is brought together here.

First time shooting, after a gun cleaning, was a beginning marksmanship class, and failure to feed was terrible. Shot 37 rounds and a third to a half were failure to feed. No ejection problems, but gun failed to open on an empty mag/chamber a few times. Ammo used was 3 brands of FMJ, Remington UMC, Armscore, and American Eagle All gave problems. All jams were cleared by ejecting the round.

Second trip to range. I have my 200 rounds in now. I started shooting today with a full box of Blazer Brass and the first 2 8rnd mags were flawless. Quite shocking after the previous experience. Out of a box of 50, I only had one failure to feed, and hitting the back of the slide fixed it. The remainder of the box of American Eagle, about 2/3rds full, had only one similar failure to feed. The remaining 2/3rds of the Remington UMC box had 8 failures to feed, but the remainder of the Armscor 2/3rds box, the cheapest ammo I bought, was terrible, maybe 40% failure to feed, and some of those were bad enough you could not hit the back of the slide to make the shell seat, but I had to eject the shell. Also 1 misfire in the Armscor. So, I'll stick with Blazer Brass and American Eagle for target practice.

Third trip to range. Shot 34 rounds of Blazer Brass flawlessly. Shot 50 rounds of Ventura ARX (Ruger stamped), and 2 rounds failed to feed. One loaded halfway and another loaded 80% of the way, but neither would complete the loading with a hard tap to the back of the slide, and I had to ejected them. Looks like I'm going to have to shoot up the entire 250 rounds before I'll feel comfortable using this stuff for defensive carry. One failure was using a standard mag, and one was using a magguts converted mag.

Cynthia