Tommy Gun Shop   Xssights   Mitch Rosen   Tommy Gun

Thread: Kahr CW380 adventures (and requests for help) with "Mini Savage"

Default Kahr CW380 adventures (and requests for help) with "Mini Savage"

This is a thread to help me keep track of my Kahr stuff and in the process maybe help others...I am a newb to this seemingly temperamental little gun and appreciate the help available on this board.

I'm working on a couple of issues with my Kahr CW380 aka “mini savage” which started not locking back recently. After a little work (including the pre shooting tips here) it’s been running great for 500 plus rounds, up until now. Today I adjusted/removed/toyed with the slide lock and the slide lock spring screw and also cleaned and lubed the little beast. Went to the range to test it, worked as advertised for 4 mags then stopped locking back so I removed the slide lock and tinkered with the spring and gently tried to tighten the screw. It would be totally like me to tighten it too tight and crack the frame, so I’m totally paranoid about doing this, but it’s probably a given that it will happen. After putting it back together it ran fine again for 4 mags, so there’s something going on there. I am primarily suspicious about the groove I’m seeing in the ledge where the tail of the slide stop spring sits, it’s not clear to me if that groove is supposed to be there and I’m wondering if the spring has worn that groove into it and hence is not working properly. It’s almost impossible to find a picture at the correct angle to see if on a new slide stop there is a groove or not. Unfortunately Kahr is out of a replacement slide stop for me to buy and test….maybe it’s just the spring which I have on order.