Mitch Rosen   Magnum Research new   Xssights   Tommy Gun
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cw9 vs cw40

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Cw9 vs cw40

I have been carrying a CW9 for a couple of years and really like it. Today I was at a gun show and looked hard at a CW40. Does anyone own both and does the 40 perform and handle as well as the 9. I am thinking I would really like to have the 40 to carry at times if it performs as good as the 9. Thanks for your opinions.

Still no replies, I have bathed in the last couple of days. Maybe it's my breath.

I was reluctant to jump in this one since I don't own a CW40 and thought others would help ya out. Apparently not so, so for whats it's worth, heres my opinion to be used as you see fit.
    I do own a K40, the all steel 40. While I have zero issues with it I do find that it bucks a bit. I had it magna ported and that helped some and was well worth it just cause it looks really cool. That being said, while I'm not recoil sensitive it just jumps too much for a defense gun to me. I carry it but much prefer my PM45. Both are backup guns to a 1911 anyhow so while they both must be reliable and trustworthy they are in a backup role.
    In my opinion (IMHO???, trying to get these abbreviations down) I see little gain in adding a CW 40 to your wardrobe. While I like the 40 immensely over the 9, the 9 will get the job done and many many folks think they are the ticket.
    I'd use the CW9 as the small go everywhere all the time gun and go for something maybe larger or different that could serve double duty as a carry gun when clothing allows and a fun range gun all the time.
    Course my first choice would be 45 but thats just a personal addiction I've had to deal with for many many years.