Magnum Research new   Kahr Shop   CrossBreed Holsters   Tommy Gun Shop

Thread: MK9 & PM9 Which to use when?

Question MK9 & PM9 Which to use when?

Noob here, but a Kahr owner none the less. I have an MK9 and it is very reliable and accurate. I have no problem with the long, but smooth, DAO trigger. But...it is a bit heavy for pocket carry, so I'm on the hunt for a PM9 (night sight) for carry. I hear the PM frames only have a life of a couple thousand rounds where the MK frames can probably go a lifetime. Would it be reasonable to use the MK9 for unholstering drills at the range, running a lot of ammo through it, but reserving the PM9 for carry? I'm thinking that for every time at the range where I run 50-200 rounds of ball ammo through the MK, I finish off with one clip of PD ammo through the PM. Or should I be practicing more than that with the actual carry weapon? Carl

Not sure where you heard that a PM9 was only good for a couple thousand rounds....Jocko has run over 30,0000 rounds through his.....soooooooooooo I'd say when you get your PM9, shoot it as much as you want, especially if that's going to be your actual carry weapon. I don't think you can wear out that little bugger.
    Kahr P380 (part owner)
    Kahr PM9
    Kahr PM45
    Kahr MK9 Elite 03
    Springfield XDs .45 3.3
    Springfield XDm .40 Compact 3.8
    Springfield XDm 9mm 3.8

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote."
    .....Benjamin Franklin

carlcyrus. To date we have never seen ANY kahr shot out, Their polymer frame is every bit as good as a Glock frame, how many of those have been shot out, Who ever toldyou that is jsut so full of crap, I can't see how they can even walk.

Trust me, you won't shoot out a kahr polymer PERIOD. I can attest to that with over 30,000 rounds through my PM9 and it looks totally new. U can search on this forum jocko's custom PM9 and see it and at that time it had over 20K through it.