CrossBreed Holsters   Magnum Research new   Tommy Gun   Mitch Rosen
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Manually Racking The First Round

Default Manually Racking The First Round

I’m new to Kahr pistols but cannot understand what the big deal is about manually racking the first round into the chamber. If it’s done correctly there should be no issue. Pull the slide all the way to the rear then let go of the slide. The forward speed and force of the slide should be the same as using the slide release. I have both the CW40 and PM9 and have not had any problems. Yes there could be an issue if you ride the slide as you would with many other auto’s. Just an old man’s observation.

I've had both success and failure when manually racking the first round. Not sure if I was riding the slide or not. I'll manually rack at the range now but not after loading it up at home after cleaning. First shot at range not firing is not a big deal, first shot in a "holy sh*T" situation is.
    On the internet, the number of posts do not correlate to actual knowledge.
    The notch is supposed to be there as well as the bulge at the front of the frame!
    You can't stop insane people from doing insane things by passing insane laws.

If you carry with one in the chamber, the slide racking, while annoying at times, isn't an issue at all.

Quote Originally Posted by AFVet View Post
    If you carry with one in the chamber, the slide racking, while annoying at times, isn't an issue at all.
    exactly!! Who is gonna remember to rack the slide in a situation. Are you gonna have both hands and arms to do so?? You will also be showing your gun for maybe 3 seconds before even pointing it. The racking (step 1) should be done before you leave the house. Your gonna need those 3 seconds in a situation. I thought I was the only one up on a Saturday morning. Everybody else must have to go to work too!