PDA

View Full Version : OK to Swap 7 and 6 Round Baseplates?

doc540
05-04-2012, 08:54 PM
I didn't want the extra length of a Pearce extension, so I lightly sanded the top of a plastic, 7 round baseplate and installed it on a 6 round mag.

Probably a common swap here, but I'm a noob.

It's a secure seat and drops like a champ. Gives me a tad more to grip when shooting +P CorBon's.

Have I violated some yet-to-learn Kahr rule here? ;)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v334/doc540/Guns/Kahr%20CM9%20CW9/BaseplateSwap.jpg

TucsonMTB
05-04-2012, 09:01 PM

We have rules? :o Just kidding . . .

Looks great. Not kidding . . .

PYROhafe
05-04-2012, 09:01 PM
yeah.... been done before, but yours looks good! nice job (for a noob i guess)

doc540
05-04-2012, 09:04 PM
Thanks

It takes a firm tap to secure it, but I do the same with all my semi mag's.

Dooger
05-04-2012, 11:51 PM
I like it. So that's off a Kahr 7 round mag? You just took it off the mag, sanded it and then slipped it on a Kahr 6 round? Or am I missing that it was a Pearce extension?

LorenzoB
05-04-2012, 11:58 PM
Looks good. Welcome aboard from one noob to another! ;)

It is kind of funny that people with plastic base plates switch to metal ones and those with metal ones switch to plastic.

jocko
05-05-2012, 05:45 AM
I didn't want the extra length of a Pearce extension, so I lightly sanded the top of a plastic, 7 round baseplate and installed it on a 6 round mag.

Probably a common swap here, but I'm a noob.

It's a secure seat and drops like a champ. Gives me a tad more to grip when shooting +P CorBon's.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v334/doc540/Guns/Kahr%20CM9%20CW9/BaseplateSwap.jpg

one rule although unwritten is that when u make a nice mod like u did that u should send EVERY forum member over with over 250 posts one of ur mods so we can evaulate them,:D:D Or just send Bawanna and ol Jocko one each and "we will kindly"pass along our evualation. Just sayin:001_tt2:

doc540
05-05-2012, 05:58 AM