PDA

View Full Version : CM9 vs the competition

Starboard
06-30-2012, 11:49 AM
Howdy everyone, I'm new to kahrtalk although I've been spending a lot of time doing research here trying to pick the best summer carry pistol for My needs.

I purchased a CM9 at Cabelas last week for $419 before tax, not the best price around the country but by the time I added transfer fees, shipping and 8.9% local sales tax, I paid less than ordering it online and received it the same day.

The CM9 came in a cardboard box and not plastic case that others have shown. I really don't care about that anyway as I would rather have Kahr spending time and money on quality control.

I field stripped the pistol to prep as detailed on this site and found that it was indeed very tight to remove the slide stop, but after the slide was removed and inspecting the interior areas inside the slide I was amazed at the lack of tool marks! The machine work inside was some of the best I've seen on a production pistol, especially for one at this price point and also since the CM9 is advertised as having fewer Machining operations.

I looked at the competition and found that:
Beretta Nano, negatives where high bore axis, more weight, and unattractive.
S&W shield, not all that compact and hated the thumb safety.
Ruger LC9, too many nanny state features not all that compact.
Kel tec PF9, looked cheap , feels cheap, not a fan of the trigger.
Kimber solo, TOO expensive, awkward thumb safety

All in all The winner for Me was the CM9. The price was fair, it was nearly as compact as many 380 acp pistols, the weight was less than most in its class, and it has the best trigger for a pistol considering it intended use.

My only criticism of the CM/PM series pistols is the gap between the frame and magazine, I hope Kahr will address this issue in their next generation of pistols.

I will report back after my first range session with the CM9.

jocko
06-30-2012, 11:55 AM