View Full Version : No Break-in Period for a MetroArm 1911?

sierrajb
10-05-2012, 12:22 PM
I'm a Newbie to 1911's (See Thread "Is This a Deal or What?"). Realizing my new 1911 (MetroArms American Classic Amigo) is less popular than most brands, I wanted to know more about this good looking gun. So, a couple of weeks ago I emailed Jesse Salientes at MetroArms, asking some questions about my new Amigo. I'll let you read my questions, his answers, then ask you to respond:

My Email to MetroArms
Hello, Jesse!
I just received a MetroArms American Classic Amigo as a gift from a friend. This is my first 1911, and I've been searching the web for the past week to learn all I can about MetroArms and this 1911 I now have.

Another member of americanclassic1911.com (http://americanclassic1911.com/) gave me your email and said you might help me with some questions. I've already shot 400 rounds in hopes of breaking it in, but I'm experiencing some failure to return to battery, failure to feed, and failure to eject. Today I shot 200 rounds: 100 TulAmmo (steel case) and 100 Federal (brass case). Both were 230 grain round nose. Of those 200, I experienced 12 failure to feed/return to battery, and 1 failure to eject. So, here are my questions:

1. Is this typical of a break-in period? How long to break it in?

2. Will using steel case ammo hurt my gun? TulAmmo is the cheapest, but I won't use it if you say it could hurt the gun.

3. Should I consider replacing my recoil spring/firing pin springs with Wolff? If so, what rating (total #) would you suggest?

4. What about the tension of the ejector? Someone told me it could cause misfeeds, etc. if it was no much or not enough.

Finally, where can I learn more about MetroArms? When I try to go to www.metroarms.com (http://www.metroarms.com/), I get a message that says the domain is expired. Are you the best way to contact MetroArms in case I have other questions?