PDA

View Full Version : Girsan

JohnR
03-11-2013, 02:48 PM
Oh lordy, what have I done? :( Hopefully this thing is half way decent. Just ordered a Girsan 1911 off Bud's, total price shipped was $436 plus FFL fee at my end. What few reviews I found seemed to favor it, but I feel like a guinea pig here.

I've had the 1911 bug forever (since I was a kid playing soldier in the back yard), and almost bought one a couple times, but now I decided to go for it. I thought about an RIA, and Auto Ordinance for the GI panache, but can't find RIAs right now, and the only AO 1911 I found was at Gander for more than MSRP (Something like $710!). Ruger SR1911s are $750 and up. This is my first 1911, by the way.

The Girsan, which has the GI sites, hammer and beavertail, is made in Turkey, and the Turks are no slouches. These are supposedly issued to the armies of several countries and tested to military specs.

So I eagerly await news of its arrival...

Bawanna
03-11-2013, 02:55 PM
I think your ok. I looked at those myself. They have sold over a 1000 of them and 100 % positive reviews. Not a negative in the bunch.

Pretty sure it's the same anyhow. Made it Turkey, thought they were 399 delivered but that was a week ago.

If I had the change I'd probably try one myself.

You are in fact the guinea pig so share with the rest of us when you get it in hand.

Fingers crossed for a good first 1911 for you.

downtownv
03-11-2013, 03:00 PM
Hey at that price you can't lose any money...

Bawanna
03-11-2013, 03:01 PM
Umm, my bad. I was looking at the Tisas, which I see they are out of now. The Girsan is a new one, never heard of that.

Fingers still crossed for ya but your really the guinea pig now, I got nothing to go on for the Girsan. You will be my sole source of information.

JohnR
03-11-2013, 03:08 PM
I feel like I stole it, compared to all the schmancy thousand dollar and up Dan Kimber Wesson Jerry Springer Wilson Colt Combat models out there everyone brags about.