View Full Version : Hoodwinked!

TucsonMTB
03-28-2013, 12:15 AM
As a reloading newbie, I read hundreds of threads on what to buy and what works best.

Because of budget concerns, I ended up with Lee dies for my 30-06 hand loading, with the intended rifle being a Garand.

One of the things I bought that has worked out well is a digital powder scale. Way less frustrating than the balance beam that came with my Lee press kit and faster too.

Not being in a hurry, I weigh every charge, which led me to acquire a nice powder dribbler that I was rather proud of.

So . . . what's the beef?

Pretty minor, actually . . . tonight I decided to load a few cases with a different powder, IMR 4064 instead of IMR 4895. Too lazy to empty the dribbler, I decided to try "dribbling" by hand from the yellow plastic Lee powder scoop. Guess what! It is more accurate than using the twiddly thingee on the the powder dribbler! By hand and watching closely, I can drop individual grains of 4046 and wait for the scale to respond. Very cool!

Yeah, it is almost as accurate when using the dribbler gadget and it might be faster since all you have to do is twiddle the knob. But . . . I could have saved a few bucks had I not hoodwinked myself into thinking I "needed" the dribbler. Not sure if the 0.05 grain gain in powder charge accuracy will be noticeable at the range. Maybe if I were a better shooter . . . :o

Who would have thought!? :rolleyes:

Ikeo74
03-28-2013, 06:27 AM
Use the "Powder Trickler"* (official name).
Why? Sooner or later you are going to dump too much using a scoop. That is when you have to start taking powder out and starting again.

Rule #1: Do Not leave powder in the trickler overnight, you will forget what is in it and the powder will collect moisture.