PDA

View Full Version : Powder charge keeps changing

Harrylee
03-13-2014, 10:23 AM
Have any of you noticed this. So yesterday I was reloading 45 on my Dillon press got the powder bar adjusted for the grains I wanted to drop, good to go ran 10 round checked the powder and good check it around 30 still good one final check at 50 and then I ran 200 one more check still good, OK time for a little break went back to the press 30 minutes later just out of habit I check the first round and it was like 4/10 ths heavy now wait a minute it was good thru the first run what’s up with this now I have been using this press for over 20 years and I have seen this before but not till today did I figure it out but by running a few more round thru it the power charge came back where it should be. I think what is happening is from the powder sitting in the hopper it compresses in the charge bar giving a heavy first load after sitting for awhile. So this is what I think any body think I’m right on this? I think I may be right on this, as I said I have seen this in the past and always puzzled me so after 20 years on this press the light in my head finally came on :rolleyes:, it not a big deal just cycle the press a few times dumping the powder back in the hopper and it settles out and back to running

wyntrout
03-13-2014, 10:32 AM
Maybe you need a baffle plate to keep the powder drop uniform. Some guys poo-pooed that, but I used measures with the baffle near the bottom to keep the apparent column of powder uniformly low.

I've seen internet posts on making your own out of an aluminum can.

Wynn:)

Harrylee
03-13-2014, 10:46 AM
Hey wyntrout it does have a baffle in it already got this image from the dillon site if you look at it careful you will see it

Bawanna
03-13-2014, 10:57 AM