PDA

View Full Version : Plug

luka
10-20-2009, 07:07 PM
At the bottom of the PM9 Grip there appears to be a place for a Plug Just like the Glock has, Is there sometype of Plug that go's in there? I know you can buy a plug to fill in that area for the Glock.:confused:

Kahrdog
10-20-2009, 07:29 PM
I've often wondered the same thing. It looks a little unfinished doesn't it? I've never a plug sold for it.

Kahrdog

border bandit32
10-20-2009, 09:56 PM
Me too looks like a somebody would make a plug like Jentra does for the glocks??

Dietrich
10-21-2009, 01:47 AM
Did they leave it hollow like that just to cut down further on weight?It`s kind of odd indeed,isn`t it?

Mold Guy
10-26-2009, 08:19 AM
At the bottom of the PM9 Grip there appears to be a place for a Plug Just like the Glock has, Is there sometype of Plug that go's in there? I know you can buy a plug to fill in that area for the Glock.:confused:

Luka;
As a life-long plastics engineer, I can tell you exactly what that (little) hole is: It is known as a "core-out", which is used to keep uniform wall thickness in the polymer grip/stock. Plastics do not perform well or very long when there is an uneven wall thickness or when wall thickness goes above a certain range, usually .125". Just imagine the wall thickness that would be required to fill that opening, let alone the extra weight.

My PM-40 has the very same hole, and I even thought of filling it and going a bit further, making it a sort of grip extension when using the 6rd mags. I plan to "noodle" that idea out a bit more, and will keep you posted. :D

luka
10-26-2009, 09:14 AM
Mold Guy

You could have a Gold Mine waiting for you if you come up with something?

Good Luck

runner3264
12-11-2009, 08:54 PM
I've got a Molding shop with plenty of open space if anyone wants to take it on.

Grabbrass
12-12-2009, 02:49 PM