PDA

View Full Version : Night sights after dark range report

Dietrich
12-03-2009, 02:58 PM
I took my PM9 with the new Meprolight sights to the range late yesterday afternoon.My buddy and I started shooting about 4:30.I immediatly noticed that I was acquiring the front sight more quickly in the fading light of the day.My accuracy seemed to improve a little also.Never did get fully used to the dot the "i' thing.When daylight died, we took turns shooting at a silhouette target.I hadn`t known what I had been missing.Those new sights were all that and more.I cannot recommend them too highly.If you have a PM9 or any other handgun that does not have them,I urge you to have them installed,if possible.You`ll love them.Dietrich.:)

BigD
12-03-2009, 10:43 PM
Thanks for the report!

I'm a fan of night sight's for sure. But I think next time I am going to try out something other then the mepro's. I have them on my Glock 27 and this PM9. Both came with them installed from the factory.

The PM9 has been dated to mid-2006, and my glock is from early 2007. Both have faded pretty drastically. :( I know they don't last forever, but for the cost of them, and/or the premium usually placed on a pistol coming with them new, I kind of hoped they would last longer.

Now keep in mind they are still definitely very visible in low light and complete darkness but the overall glow has certainly diminished quite a bit. Makes me wonder if I will need to replace them in another year or so..?

The only other experience I have with night sights is a set of Novak's on a 1911 bought new in early 2008. They are still extremely bright just like the day it arrived!

wyntrout
12-03-2009, 11:39 PM
Hi, BigD.