PDA

View Full Version : Your process with a turret press

hdsteve69
07-12-2011, 07:45 AM
So Im new to reloading ,when I did my first 100 rnds I was doing 1 step at a time .1 clean all cases including deburring 2. resize ,prime and expand all cases 3. charge all cases and inspect charge 4. bullet press all cases. Seemed to take a long time so now I have changed my process to doing everything to one round at a time to completion this seems to be faster . Just curious how others with a turret press do their process.

94zcar
07-12-2011, 10:11 AM
I just complete every step on my Lee classic turret, letting the press auto index. I dont deburr or trim pistol cases, I read that it is not necessary. you didn't say what your reloading but I am guessing it's for pistol.
Since kahr doesn't make rifles.

hdsteve69
07-12-2011, 12:46 PM
Ya Im loading 9mm and 40s&w. So you dont have any problems with die damage by not deburring ,cause if not I could get a lot more rounds done if I could eliminate that step. I timed myself last night and I did 10 rounds of 40 in 11 minutes.

Bawanna
07-12-2011, 12:59 PM
If your using brand new unused brass I debur, otherwise I just take a quick peek as I feed the press and set aside those with deformities or burrs. Once is usually all they will ever need.
I like to clean primer pockets but with my progressive that doesn't work so good. I've not had any issues so far so I'm not worried about it.

hdsteve69
07-12-2011, 02:44 PM
Thats what ive been doing new brass debur old brass I just do a quick debur of the hole in the primer bucket to make sure it is cleaned good and use a primer bucket brush to make sure it is cleaned also.

melissa5
07-12-2011, 07:07 PM